*I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* 2012(SECOND) Regular Session

2012 OCT - 3 PM 1

Resolution No. <u>548-3</u> (40r)

**Introduced by:** 

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. 4

Relative to recognizing and commending the teachers of Liguan Elementary School during the 2012 Week of Classroom Teachers; and extending a sincere Un Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse for their dedication and service to the students of Guam.

## **1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF**

## 2 I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, Liguan Elementary School was established and opened its doors on August 21, 2008 and is now celebrating its 5<sup>th</sup> year of operation. The school is located at 237 North Chalan Liguan, in the subdivision of Liguan Terrace in the village of Dededo; and

WHEREAS, Liguan Elementary School services grades Kindergarten to 5<sup>th</sup>
grade with a population of approximately 633 students from the areas of Liguan
Terrace Subdivision, Harmon Sunset Gardens Apartments, right side of route 15,
Great Mart and surrounding areas of Great Mart, Tranquilo and Dikiki courts, and
Tun Francisco subdivision across the soccer field and Guam Sports Complex; and

WHEREAS, the school is an enclosed campus which consists of 33 classrooms, a dining hall, satellite kitchen, library, administrative offices, electrical maintenance, storage facilities and generator room provided to surround students with the best possible environment for learning. Students also benefit from Liguan
Elementary School's curriculum programs, which consist of: Direct Instruction
Reading Reform Program, English as a Second Language Program, Special
Education Program, Chamorro Program, Department of Education Extended Day
(DEED) Program, Summer School Program, Parent Teacher Organization, Gifted
and Talented Education (GATE) Program; and

WHEREAS, Liguan Elementary School joins the Association for 7 Childhood Educators International in recognizing and celebrating their school's 8 faculty during the 2012 Week of Classroom Teachers. The school's faculty 9 includes: Anthony H. Cepeda, Principal; Renielle A. Ranan, Assistant Principal; 10 Edrienne Hernandez, Special Education Teacher; Camela Mendiola, GATE 11 Teacher; Josefa Lizama-Artero, School Health Counselor; Lourdes Dizon, 12 Guidance Counselor; Rose Sizemore, Librarian; Marites Garcia, Direct Instruction 13 Reading/Cirriculum Coordinator; Daniel Domaoal, Speech Therapist; Chamorro 14 Teachers: Marciana Aguon, Rose Mafnas, Juanita Manibusan-Manglona, Sara 15 Uncangco; Kindergarten Teachers: Alona Hall, Renne Reyes, Rose Leon Guerrero, 16 Genevieve Santos and Melissa Balajadia; First Grade Teachers: Aldrin Jay Cajigal, 17 Sheryll Uncangco, Diana Tamondong, Luzette Villagomez; Second Grade 18 Teachers: Anthony Ignacio, Julie Tejano, Nora Asprer, Albina Santos, Ronald 19 Mendoza; Third Grade Teachers: Jung Kim, Nilfa Milan, Catherine Tumanda, 20 Virginia Hermogino, Pauline Taitingfong; Fourth Grade Teachers: Christine 21 Quitugua, Roseanna San Agustin, Kathleen Palomo, Ryan Paulino; Fifth Grade 22 Teachers: Marie Mandapat, Emma Edrosa, Cynthia Paulino, Ivan Taiheron, Luis 23 Cabral; English as a Second Language Teachers: Eric Paja, Cecilia Champion and 24 Paul Sekine; ; and now, therefore be it 25

**RESOLVED**, the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Una Na I Liheslaturan Guåhan*, does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the

people of Guam, recognize and commend the teachers of Liguan Elementary
School during the 2012 Week of Classroom Teachers and extend a sincere Un *Dångkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'åse* for their dedication and service to the students of
Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on
Rules certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to the adoption hereof, and
that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Anthony H. Cepeda, Principal
of Liguan Elementary School; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE \_\_\_\_\_ DAY OF OCTOBER, 2012.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D Speaker **RORY RESPICIO** Chairman, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary